Film & Theology

Home » Church News » Film & Theology

Glimpses of the eternal

If you like films and are interested in faith then "Glimpses of the Eternal" may well be for you!

This 9-week introductory course looking at how film can help us to look anew and afresh at theology was put together by Keith during his last Sabbatical.

He will be running this course at Grove Methodist Church and everyone is welcome to come along and join in.

You do not have to commit to all 9 sessions to participate, simply come along as and when you can.

All the sessions will be held in the Meeting Room at Grove Methodist Church beginning at 7:30pm.

If you are thinking of coming along though, it would be helpful to let Keith know, as there are handouts etc that will be available.

The themes for each week are as below.

Thursday 18th May — "Stories, hooks, bridges & snapshots"

Monday 22nd May — "Made in the image of God"

Monday 5th June — "The fall and temptation"

Monday 12th June — "What does it mean to be redeemed?"

Monday 19th June — "Living in community"

Thursday 29th June — "The importance of a shared meal"

Wednesday 5th July — "The Matrix"

Tuesday 11th July — "Jesus of Montreal"

Thursday 20th July — "Endings"

If you would like any further information or have any questions, do contact Keith.

popular recent storiesAlso in the news

poppies, poppy, remembrance sunday, remembrance day
WMC: Wed 21 Oct 2:00pm

From the Manse.....Back in my Infant School days when Halloween was something that was done 'over there' in America, I can still recall singing along with my friends; "Remember, remember, the fifth of November" as we looked forward to the excitement of bonfire night.At that young age I didn't know how the rest of the rhyme went "Remember, remember, the fifth of...

Question marks
WMC: Sun 18 Oct 12:53pm

Alan and June Grunwald have offered to run another zoom quiz, with the help of Ian Sturt from Grove, The quiz will be held on Friday, 20 November at 7.30 pm. The quiz will be low brow with some short rounds with some time to break out in groups and have a zoom chat. If you would like to quiz, please email June so that she can send a zoom invitation...

Simple cross
WMC: Tue 13 Oct 12:20pm

16 people came to the first Worship on Wednesday on the theme of Harvest. The next Worship on Wednesday will be on Wed 4 November, starting at 2 pm. This time the theme will be Remembrance. The photo was taken by Chris Worth and is a cross in memory of Chris' great-grandmother's brother. The Worship on Wednesday, will again be a short time of reflective words, images and music all...

Upcoming events

Church news

Question marks
Church Quiz in November
WMC: Sun 18 Oct 12:53pm
Simple cross
Worship on Wednesday
WMC: Tue 13 Oct 12:20pm
Judith Skinner
Knit and Chat
WMC: Tue 13 Oct 12:11pm
Harvest produce
Worship on Wednesdays
WMC: Mon 28 Sep 8:07am

Minister's musings

poppies, poppy, remembrance sunday, remembrance day
Remembering
WMC: Wed 21 Oct 2:00pm
harvest, farming, crops
Harvest
WMC: Tue 22 Sep 7:30am
Calendar
A new Methodist Year
WMC: Tue 01 Sep 7:30am
Allotment before
The allotment
WMC: Fri 03 Jul 11:00am