Home » Governance

Wantage Methodist Church is part of the Wantage and Abingdon Circuit of the Methodist Church, which in turn is part of the Northampton District.

Like all Methodist Churches, it is the Church Council that is the Governing Body.

It's members are Managing Trustees with overall responsibility for all that goes on within the life of the church. Managing Trustees need to be members of the Methodist Church.

As a rule, the Church Council meets three times a year; in February, June and October but additional meetings can be called if necessary by giving two weeks written notice prior to the meeting.

Church Council meetings are open to anyone to attend, but only those who are Managing Trustees are eligible to vote on issues and resolutions.

Some of the Managing Trustees are appointed to the Church Council by the nature of the positions they hold or responsibilities they carry out e.g. Church Stewards etc., others are elected to serve on the Church Council at the General Church Meeting which is held annually, usually around March/April.

Those who are currently serving on our Church Council at the moment are;

Revd Keith Underhill

Church Stewards
Carolyn Roche
Heather Wells
Jan Abraham
Alison Phillips
Gordon Skidmore

Clive Phillips

Church Council Secretary
Alison Brown

Pastoral Committee Sec
Ann Barber

Movers & Shakers
Kelvin Rose

Property & Finance Committee
Peter Preston

Property Steward
Robert Charles

Worship Consultation
Carolyn Roche

Communion Steward
Eileen Rennie

Circuit Steward
(as agreed by the Circuit Stewards)

Members elected from the General Church Meeting:
Margaret Fordham
Sharon Hayford
Julie Horton
Helen Carter
Estia Sales
Gill Skidmore
Ken Smith
Rodney Tillotson

We have a number of other Committees that report to and act on behalf of the Church Council and have specific remits and tasks across the life of the Church
Property and Finance Committee
Pastoral Committee Committee
Worship Consultation
Movers and Shakers
Think Tank

Further details about these can be found under the Committees section of this website